Product detail

Who Stole My Spear

Who Stole My Spear

Author: Tim Samuels
$15.00(AUD)  inc GST
Description

A modern day guide to being a man. 'But surely being a man is the easiest thing in the world', you might cry. Think again...This is a must-read for fans of Jon Ronson and Matt Haig! How can you hunt and gather in an open-plan office? Why do men make up 95 per cent of FTSE CEOs yet 95 per cent of the prison population? In Who Stole My Spear?, award-winning broadcaster and journalist Tim Samuels asks whether this is the most absurd and challenging time to be a man. Trapped in bodies barely changed since caveman days, males are now contending with corporate culture, lifelong commitment, rampant depression and crazy expectations to be a success at work and home. Funny, insightful and brutally honest, Who Stole My Spear? is a book for men and women alike who are questioning what we regard as 'normal' these days; how should men actually be living? This is an inspiring rallying call for men and masculinity which cannot be ignored - Who Stole My Spear will leave you rethinking every aspect of life.

Promotion info

A modern day guide to being a man. 'But surely being a man is the easiest thing in the world', you might cry. Think again... This is a must-read for fans of Jon Ronson and Matt Haig!

Reviews

"Tim Samuels knows it isn't always easy to be a man. In a disarmingly honest and funny way, he sets about revealing and challenging many of the ways men now find themselves living - taking on everything from war, religion and pornography, to fatherhood and relationships. The book is important as well as charming: something for many men, and as importantly women, to read, learn and be consoled by." Alain de Botton

Author description

Tim Samuels is a multi-award-winning BBC documentary-maker, journalist and broadcaster - and the 'go-to man' for the national media. He is one of the most distinctive and acclaimed journalists in the business. Tim has won three Royal Television Society awards, best documentary at the World Television Festival, Race in the Media journalist of the year and been honoured for his TV and radio work by the New York Festivals. But nothing compares to be described by the Radio Times as "the most eligible bachelor in town".

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781780894997
  • : Cornerstone
  • : Century
  • : April 2016
  • : 216mm X 135mm X 27mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Tim Samuels
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 305.310207
  • : 368